Sight modification for aging eyes.

View Latest Activity

Home Forums The Armory – Gear and Equipment Optics Sight modification for aging eyes.

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Joe (G.W.N.S.)

As noted in other Threads I’ve been having difficulty seeing my pistol sights. This is originally from my Thread Beretta M9A3 G Conversion Kit and other Modifications, but I thought adding it here maybe helpful for others.

Have been exploring various options.

Reasonably Priced Red Dot for a Pistol

…and…

Shield Sights

Standard Sights on my M9.

This is my first attempt at a solution.

I blacked out rear half moon dot and applied Testor’s florescent Red to Front Sight White dot.

This is much better for me!

The photo doesn’t do this modification justice, it appears much brighter than depicted.

I lack the knowledge to properly explain all the various factors related to aging eyes, but this is a significant improvement.

I may apply this Red to entire rear of Front Sight to duplicate old revolver Front sight inserts popular back in the day.

Update:
        This has done wonders for my ability to use my pistol sights.

Prior to this my group sizes were opening up and this was particularly frustrating. Initially I increased practice, but my eyes just weren’t cooperating

Now my groups are back to what I expect of myself. :yes:

I don’t have a WML for my M9, so I still use the Harries Flashlight Technique as my standard choice.

For some it maybe a bit old school, but I’ve been using it for over 30 years.

A side benefit to this technique is the peripheral beam does an excellent job of illuminating the florescent Red front dot. So this has translated to accurate nighttime fire as well.

Obviously there are commercial sight options that accomplish the same thing, but I was reluctant to spend that kind of money before knowing it would actually work for me. In this case the $2.99 Testor’s florescent Red paint proved the concept without investing more money.