How To Adjust Sights/Scope (Without Wasting Ammo)

View Latest Activity

Home Forums The Armory – Gear and Equipment Optics How To Adjust Sights/Scope (Without Wasting Ammo)

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Brian from Georgia
      Participant

As a rifle marksmanship instructor, I often find that even long-time shooters don’t know how to efficiently adjust their sights or scope. Here’s a little primer on the process.

Many military pattern rifles such as the M1A and AR-15 and most scopes use repeatable “click” adjustments for moving point of impact (POI) to point of aim (POA). These are most often graduated in MOA.

What’s MOA?
        MOA, or Minute of Angle, is a radial measurement used in sight or scope adjustment. It’s used on rifles because it results in an appropriate scale and an easy-to-remember and practical formula. It is approximated as:

1 MOA = 1” at 100 yards

So if you are shooting at 100 yards and your POI is 4” low, you would adjust your rear sight up 4 MOA. POI 6.5” to the left? Adjust rear sight 6.5 MOA right.

An MOA is a unit-less measurement, meaning it’s the same at any distance. That’s why it’s handy on graduated sight/scope adjustments.
        1 MOA = 2” at 200 yards
        1 MOA = 3” at 300 yards
        1 MOA = 4” at 400 yards
        Etc., etc.

How many MOA per Click for My Rifle Sights or Scope?
        Click graduations differ for every combination. AR15 iron sights can range from 1/2 MOA to 1.6MOA or more. Sight radius (distance between sights) and type of sights can affect this. You can look up your nominal values, but they are nominal (not necessarily accurate).

Scope adjustments are generally graduated finer than irons. Your typical hunting scope is ¼ MOA per click, meaning POI will move ¼” at 100 yards per click. Some target scopes are finer at 1/8 MOA and some tactical scopes are coarser at ½ MOA, and even those numbers are nominal.

You need to determine the click graduations for your particular combination.