DIY Sewing Basics

View Latest Activity

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      JohnnyMac
      Participant

Someone expressed interest in me putting together a post on sewing your own gear. Now a few things up front. I am by no means an expert but have a few projects under my belt. Also, DON’T waste your time making something you can get off the shelf! Just last week I ordered some Esstac Kywi pouches, could I have made them, I suppose, but it’s almost never worth your time to try to make something you can get off the shelf. As a novice, you will not be able to match the quality of work done by a pro….buy MVT Gear. It’s well thought out and top notch quality.

There are times where you want something that isn’t off the shelf, want to modify existing equipment or need to repair your gear- that’s the time to roll your own. My goal is to give you some basics (just enough rope?) to get you started.