Contents of a Blow Out Kit.

View Latest Activity

Home Forums Tactics & Leadership Fieldcraft and Land Navigation Contents of a Blow Out Kit.

Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
      DuaneH
      Participant

This is a work in progress so be patient:
        I also don’t claim to be a subject matter expert. I am a 66H, M9 in the Army with 20 years experience on the civilian side and have done everything listed below either in an ER or on the side of the road. I have never had to take care of a traumatic injury under combat conditions; however, the Army has said I am an expert and I have had to teach CLS and re-certify 68W’s.
        So if you are a veteran 18D (or other BTDT expert) and tell me that flying bannanna juice works best, then I will defer to your judgement.

Keep in mind the PERSPECTIVE of this post. Combat trauma being treated by non medical people with what you can carry on your rig.

There was discussion at the last CRCD class about what goes into a blowout kit. I will elaborate on that. Anytime you strap on your gear, there should be a blowout kit on it. This kit is not for use on anyone but you. It is not to be used for booboos or anything other than traumatic injuries.

The three most common causes of preventable death on the battlefield are:
        Hemorrhage from extremity wounds
        Tension pneumothorax
        Airway problems

Ask 10 medical people what should go into an IFAK, and you will get 12 different answers. Here is what the Army puts in theirs and will address the top three.
        http://www.usamma.amedd.army.mil/assets/docs/ifak.pdf

THE ABOVE IS THE MINIMUM THAT SHOULD GO INTO AN IFAK. ADD MORE AS YOU DESIRE OR HAVE THE SKILL LEVEL FOR. Most important is training not equipment!

An inexpensive alternative is from here:
        http://shop.thetacticalmedic.com/Tactical-Response-Gear-VOK-Ventilated-Operator-Kit-VOK.htm

The below is simply what I recommend.