Some non-medical quack science (Corona Virus): hydrochloroquin

View Latest Activity

Home Forums Current Affairs & Topical News Pieces Some non-medical quack science (Corona Virus): hydrochloroquin

Viewing 28 reply threads
  • Author
      Max
      Keymaster

I am seeing on the news that the old school anti-malarial drug hydrochloroquine is showing as effective to reduce viral load / aid recovery from Corona virus. As you know, I’m not a Doctor.

However, this reminded me of some ‘old-lore’ that is sitting in the back of my mind.

“Chloroquine is a synthetic form of quinine, a compound found in the bark of cinchona trees native to Peru and used for centuries to treat …”

Back in the day, quinine used to be the anti-malarial drug of choice. In the ‘colonies’ (not the American ones, but places like Malaya, Africa etc) the drink of choice was gin and tonic. Why? Because tonic water was developed containing quinine, which is why it has that disinctive bitter taste.

I don’t know how much quinine tonic water still has in it. But I believe it still has it. I also don’t know how much gin & tonic you would have to drink to cure yourself from Corona! Worth a try though!

It would be interesting to known what sources of quinine or chloroquine are available?

riflemaniv
        Participant

Seagrams still puts quinine in their tonic. Unfortunately I’m out of gin so vodka and tonic will have to suffice.

DuaneH
          Participant

Pharmacies still have hydroxycholoroquine but they are starting to run out at the local level. I had three patients yesterday call and say their pharmacy was out. My response was for them to call around and find out which one had it in order to send the rx there.

So the info on chloroquine’s effectiveness in vitro on coronavirii goes back to the 2003 SARS epidemic which was a corona virus. Naturally last year in China they dug up this research and began using it in vivo with positive results.