OR Bugout Gaiters and a Medical Warning

View Latest Activity

Home Forums The Armory – Gear and Equipment Gear and Book Reviews OR Bugout Gaiters and a Medical Warning

Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author
      First Sergeant

I may have mentioned these before in the past. I know I have had conversations about them with students at class. They are a set of low cut gaiters that are impregnated with OR’s Insect Shield. They keep bugs from crawling up your legs.

They initially only came in tan color. They now come in Realtree camo.

https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/bugout-gaiters-realtree/p/2643660885009

The way we used to prevent bugs from crawling up the inside of your pants leg was to blouse your boots. Nobody does that anymore. This is a way to prevent ticks and chiggers.

I have a set in tan that I have been using for a couple of years. I just got a set of the Reatree and expect the same great quality.

Now the medical warning. This is part of why I am reviewing the gaiters.

How many of you have heard of the allergy called Alpha-Gal? It is believed to be caused by a tick bite. It makes you allergic to meat and meat by-products like dairy.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alpha-gal_allergy

Different people have different reactions to it. Some can eat dairy, others can’t. I know this because my daughter has it, my cousin’s son has it and a friends daughter has it.

As we like to spend a lot of time outdoors for either training, recreation, work or working in the yard this is something you need to be aware of.

FILO
        Signal Out, Can You Identify
        Je ne regrette rien
        In Orbe Terrum Non Visi

Civilianresponder
        Participant

Thanks for the heads up! That must really suck to get that. :negative:

Joe (G.W.N.S.)

Realtree camo.

I had recently added these to my shopping list. Great minds huh! ;-)

Joe (G.W.N.S.)

…a tick bite.

Lots of reasons to protect yourself from the various creepy crawlers.

Take this threat serious.