Need advice on shelter options

View Latest Activity

Home Forums The Armory – Gear and Equipment Shelter and Sleep Systems Need advice on shelter options

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      12aklabs
      Participant

All,

I am in the market for some type of shelter(s) that will work up here in Alaska. Our weather conditions can range from 90 degrees in the summer, with no seeums and mosquitos to -50 below in blowing snow.

I currently have the military sleep system, bivvy, thermarest and a woobie. In addition I also have the MVT shield. I don’t want to get crazy heavy as this would be used primarily for patrolling (up to a week).

Any ideas would be great. I have some experience camping but none on the tactical side.

Thanks
        12aklabs

HiDesertRat
        Participant

You might wish to look at tents constructed of cuben fiber which is dyneema ( the body armor material) also called spectra ). 15X stronger than steel, extremely lightweight. Two manufacturers I am aware of are Hyperlite Mountain Gear and ZPacks. One tent, a 2 person model, modular in design weighs under 2 lbs in its entirety. They are not inexpensive but are lightest, strongest on the market currently.
          Might warrant a look. Good hunting.

12aklabs
          Participant

Thanks I will check them out.

Max
            Keymaster

From a tactical standpoint, NO TENTS.

The ECWS sleep system is a great bit of kit, however there are civilian alternatives for the black bag that save you a lot of space and weight. Snugpack is what I use.

I am a northern boy as well, and an updated ECWS sleep system paired with an MVT shield, good cold weather field clothing and feildcraft talent with snow will offer a field shelter that is excellent during wintertime. Caveat, I have only done this at about -20 F. -50 might need a little more work.

If tactical is a consideration, tents are a death trap and should only be used for an incapacitated casualty during the prolonged field care phase.