Handcuffs and EPW Team Gear

View Latest Activity

• This topic has 4 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 9 months ago by Max. This post has been viewed 460 times
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      D Close

Since taking CLC last year I’ve done some research on gear and procedures one might want to have and TTP that might be helpful for special teams use. The EPW team are those squad members assigned to handle enemy prisoners and KIA. During CLC we did not cover this in depth but there is some good info out there. METT is going to govern your specific considerations in this area but I see a need for handcuffs and other restraints to temporarily secure prisoners. In SHTF security operations you likely are going to be performing LE duties and I hope we incorporate some of that training into our overall preparedness plan.

I started training using the ASP cuffs. After speaking with LEO I was recommended the Hiatt brand instead. I bought several pairs. In many scenarios and using various rules of engagement (ROE) these are going to be better than rope or flex cuffs. In some cases you will use both metal and flex. I will list some vendors here. I hope the LEOs here chime in with TTP as well. I will link some vids that seem valid but feel free to critique.

https://www.handcuffwarehouse.com/Safariland_Standard_Hinged_Handcuffs.html

https://www.handcuffwarehouse.com/Safariland_Standard_Chain_Nickel_Handcuffs.html

https://www.handcuffwarehouse.com/Cobra-Cuffs.html

Joe (G.W.N.S.)

Just a few thoughts, hopefully our LEO’s current and former will add to this.

The best use of of dump pouches is for collecting items while conducting your search of a detainee.

Get over your shyness when searching detainees, a thorough search means everything! This means men’s junk, woman’s crotch, and breasts etc…forget everything you’ve seen on TV.

I recommend cuff muzzles whether real or improvised.

These can be used with zip ties as well.