Body armor questions

View Latest Activity

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      wheelsee
      Participant

Ok, my brain is swimming. Keep in mind, I’m a noob. While I wore Level IV vests (actually Level III with a trauma plate in the front – considered Level IV at that time) in the early 90s, a LOT has changed.

Having perused the archives, I’ve basically settled on the Level III from bulletproofme.

Basic questions – various cuts (Mil, SAPI, shooters)?? Basic sizes (from the video 1st Sgt posted, nipple-to-nipple and suprasternal notch to 1″ below the diaphragm)?? Curves (flat – no, single versus triple)??

Any suggestions?? Definite no’s??

Joe (G.W.N.S.)

I’ve basically settled on the Level III from bulletproofme.

So your talking the rifle plates Ultra-light Level III PLUS? Correct?

If so your have two choices the 10″ by 12″(~9.75 by 11.75″) Shooters Cut for $239:

Triple Curved

For Front or Back

Only 4.7 lb. ( 2.1 kg.)

…or the SAPI Cut rifle plates with price and weight depended on size chosen, all of which are triple curve with the exception of small size.

This eliminates most of the questions/choices mentioned.

Personally I would pick based on closest size match. If you have questions on which way to go size wise just ask, but post your measurements from First Sergeant’s size Thread.

:good:

wheelsee
          Participant

9″ (nipple-to-nipple) x 12″ (from suprasternal notch to 1″ below the diaphragm, as measured lateral aspects, appears to be midway between the xyphoid and the umbilicus)

TC
            Participant

My post disappeared. Here it is again:

I have the Medium SAPI cut, gave more latitude in which plate carriers it would fit into. Not so much the height and width, but the angle of the corner cuts, which are standardized among SAPI sizes but all over the place in the 10×12’s among the various manufacturers.