30-30 Marlin Lever action

View Latest Activity

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      Joe (G.W.N.S.)

I really like my 30-30 Marlin for a general purpose hunting rifle.

The 30-30 was first marketed in early 1895 and was the US’s first small-bore, sporting rifle cartridge designed for smokeless powder.

In recent years much has been made of the Hornady LEVERevolution ammunition; a bit pricey, but it’s good ammo.

Until this release there wasn’t too many different factory loads available, however a little research reveals this wasn’t always the case.

In fact there have been factory loads for 30-30 suitable for everything from squirrel and up to anything available in North America.

Many of these loads are easily recreated with a minimum of equipment and are very cost effective.

The Lee Loader 30/30 WIN can be purchased for under $30 and can easily be used in the field to reload.

I’ve been using Lee Loaders for over 30 years in several calibers and even the discontinued 12 GA, but still available used. More on that in a different Thread.

More to come…

hellokitty
        Participant

Lever acton rifles are more accurate today than in past due to plastic tip bullets which have better ballistic coefficients than earlier bullets that have snubbed noses. FYI the reason is due to lever actions using tubular magazines. Not a good idea to have rounds with a pointed bullet end to end. Bad things can happen. But plastic tips are good to go. You can get sub MOA now with levers.

HEAT 1(CTT) X 3
          HEAT 2 (CP) X1
          FOF X3
          OPFOR X2
          CLC X2
          RIFLEMAN

Joe (G.W.N.S.)

But plastic tips are good to go.

I know what you mean, but to ensure others are aware.

From Hornady: